top of page
  • Writer's picturePS JARVIS

Winter Wringer

What are your favourite winter activities?

My favourite winter activities are most probably the ones you can still do outside. I love winter walks with the crunchy ground beneath your feet. I also love the opposite, curling up under a blanket with a hearty sized hot chocolate and a classic film. I also visit Winter Wonderland every year with my girlfriend and enjoy taking in the wintry treats that are there. There is an ice skating rink there which is one activity I do want to try again soon after not having done it probably in about a decade!





What do you usually wear in winter?

I usually unearth my massive collection of jumpers. I keep wearing my jeans that I wear the year throughout with them. My thick woollen and padded jackets are also sported with a scarf and bobble hat if it is frightfully cold. I usually choose my thermal socks beneath my boots or vans dependant on the terrain I am walking on.





What’s the best thing about winter?

On a personal note, my birthday and Christmas both fall in December which is exciting so is a time I always look forward to. Football is also technically a winter sport too, so my favourite hobby falls within this season. I think overall though, it has to be the food. I absolutely love the hearty wholesome dishes that come out over the winter period. Stews, casseroles, bakes and roasts are not not only sumptuously filling but also can be relatively healthy and easy to make too!


Link to my recent Christmas Blog Post:


What’s the worst thing about winter?

Considering I live in England, it simply has to be the weather. During winter is when the rain naturally is most frequent. The main issue lies within the wind that accompanies. Not only do you get absolutely sodden but the cold makes the water freezing and gets you, more than likely ill. Also, as much as I adore a snow day, underneath snow is pretty much always ice, and its a nightmare to drive and walk on.


Have you ever made a snow angel/snow man?

I have done both. Unfortunately, snow days aren't very frequent due to the rising temperatures now but when they do come along, I definitely go out in it and try to do one or the other. I have a fantastic memory of making a snazzy looking, full sized snowperson (we weren't sure of its gender) with both of my best friends nearly a decade ago now. I managed to find the picture too! I have made a snow angel before, but I'm not too sure if I'd repeat it. Your clothes get wet and the angel is never neat enough.


What is your favourite winter weather?

The crisp, but not Baltic, clear-blue-skied weather is my favourite. It is cold enough to layer up with as many layers as you want or can muster, but you can do it without the fear of slowly or quickly getting drenched. I have frequently gone on walks to the seaside in this weather and it is absolutely perfect to get some crystal clear photography shots. You can achieve lens flares easily and the light winter colours coupled with the bold blue sky make it perfect. Top that weather off again with a hot drink and its actually my favourite weather all year through!


What is your favourite winter dish?

By far my favourite winter dish is Toad in the Hole. Both my family and I enjoy devouring this either on a weekday or on a Sunday instead of a traditional roast. Accompanied by buttery skin on roasties and a variety of greens, this is one dish that is easy to make but goes down fantastically well. The meat part of the dish is actually made of a sausage meat mix with onion and herbs. It stops the skin of the normally used sausage, burning. I also thoroughly enjoy this dish due to the fact I can smother it in gravy! I always think of a meal with gravy when it comes to winter food. My personal favourite for gravy is the Bisto Best Caramelised Onion Gravy. Made slightly thick, it adds a complimentary taste to any gravy-suitable dish.







11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page