top of page
  • Writer's picturePS JARVIS

one small step

I am writing this shortly after having my first Coronavirus vaccine. Although I don't feel like I necessarily have to explain myself, the reasoning I have got it even though I am young is due to the fact I support very vulnerable people in my job. I am an extremely lucky 27 year old and genuinely feel privileged to have received a vaccine as I know some of those still vulnerable haven't (at this point). Not only does this protect the people I work with but also supplies a level of protection for my family which to my mind is just as vital. I genuinely believe that if anyone in my position was FOR the vaccine and was offered one they would, like me, accept the offer in a heartbeat.


The vaccine I received is a Pfizer dose, so the one that has to keep particularly cold. Much to my delight and relief, the actual shot of it wasn't. I was naïve in the facts behind this specific vaccine, only really understanding its high efficacy. I was soon told although it was transported at -70'c, the doses get 'defrosted' and then have to be used in a certain period of time. I was booked in to receive my first of two doses at part of the local 'Super Hospital'.


This genuinely was a really easy process. Once parked up I arrived to a reception area where I was asked to fill in a relatively basic health form about allergies and recent medical history. I was also asked to 'sign off' on permission that I understood the side effects this might possibly produce. Happily I continued and sat socially distant. I was then moved into a corridor outside a 'vaccination pod'. Whilst sat here I noticed that some of the people sat in the same area had a green highlight on their form. This was to signify that they had a allergy so were to receive the Astrazenica/oxford vaccine. I didn't have this as I am fortunate not to suffer any allergies outside of hay fever. After a short while and after a NHS worker, I entered the pod.


Rather nervous, I made sure that the lady 'Bev' was aware that I really didn't like needles. After talking through the rest of the form and sorting the formalities, it was down to business. I was super prepared, wearing a short sleeve shirt so I could amply pull my sleeve up. Bev then started a conversation with me about my job and aspirations. Not 2 sentences in and I started talking about doing Musical Theatre at University. By the time I had finished that second word, the wonderful Bev was already taping up my arm with some cotton wool! I didn't feel that sharp scratch they mention when giving flu or holiday jabs, in fact, I barely felt anything touch my arm. Being very grateful for the wonderfully easy process, I thanked Bev and left to go to a Recovery room where they book our next appointment and make sure that we don't immediately suffer any ill affects.


In the following couple of days, I was extremely lucky to suffer only one side affect in my arm being rather tender. A couple of my colleagues weren't as fortunate, suffering more flu like symptoms. This lasted only a day or so. This apparently was quite rare and proven very very unlikely to be serious. They have fully recovered now. With 3 weeks till the vaccines start to take full effect, I am not protected and am fully aware that even after my second dose, I am not fully immune and will follow all rules as I have done throughout. This naturally protects myself and other people to a lesser degree and I do feel like I am a small step in a marathon, but all steps are necessary.


Incidentally, only 3 days after my vaccine, I was 'pinged' by track and trace for the following 8 days. Taking into account the risks to those around me, I am following this guidance and am currently one of millions working from home. This means isolation and indoor exercise. Something an extrovert like me finds really quite difficult. This is something I was yet to experience in nearly a year of Covid. Thankfully the only part of the experience I haven't had is the actual virus itself. Since taking my first test in December, I have been negative twice weekly since. Until we find a way back to normal life, I am sticking to the guidance, laws and rules set by not only the government, but my employers. The more I do to keep people safe, the safer every single person around me becomes for others.


Please do continue to stay safe, remember that it be a team effort to get back to that life we all so dearly crave. One small step can help finish one long marathon.




48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page