top of page
  • Writer's picturePS JARVIS

twentytwenty

Being reflective of the previous year is important. Not to bring doubt in to your future, but improvement. I look back on 2019 with positivity despite the somewhat turbulent time I may have had. This is because the year of 2019 has set up 2020 for me in regards to opportunity. As I write this on new years day, I realise that there is 366 (Its a leap year!) fresh pages to write, canvases to paint and new leaves to turn over. Lots of time to really make the most out of what is ahead. Rather than the typical 'new year, new me' cliche, I think that having a mantra of improvement and opportunity would create a sense that I am only building on the great start already made.


Very recently also I turned 26, meaning that the mid twenties have definitely been in full swing. It also means that the rough life plan I had is going to to kick start into action. Within the last year, I am very grateful to have gained a wonderful job in a secondary school that I hope will lead onto progression to the goal of being a Drama Teacher. This is something I set up in 2019 and fully intend to take advantage of in 2020. I want to gain every experience I can and grasp every bit of knowledge to really make sure that I achieve what I want for myself. I have been very lucky to have been given opportunities already at work and already have plenty ahead planned. Within this there is a couple of theatre trips already booked and nights out already planned. My significant other and I are seeing Everybody's Talking about Jamie at the Mayflower in May which will be a delight as it is a week before some LGBT training that I have booked in for this year. I should also start covering lessons and running my own sessions. I should really get a leg up on other people when it comes to applying for spaces. It really is an excellent opportunity not only to go for that goal, but really try to excel on the way.


I have formed some excellent friendships over the past few years at uni and during the hobbies I have. This was evident last year when we visited them and visa versa, making fantastically funny and lovely memories. It shows the strong bond we have when people has far as Kent and Swindon come all the way down to Portsmouth just to see me and my partner. The memories we create as a result of this really do become highlights. 2019 was filled with trips to Chichester, Southsea, Thorpe Park, Kent amongst other places to spend quality time with those we hold so dear. Again, to try and seize on the opportunity of having such great friendships, we have already started to organise our diaries to see these wonderful human beans!


Just as important though, we are going to spend a lot of time with family. Due to a recent personal loss, Christmas was a little harder this year as I dearly miss that family member. It hits harder as that is the time you spend having the most fun, seeing joy on their face as well as them seeing yours. But thankfully I am truly blessed with all my family being there for each other. With 7 family members round for most of Christmas Day, it was easy to catch up and spend time with those there. I chose to really focus on the positive sentiments of Christmas this year, making sure that everyone was having a good time and was fed, watered and entertained. 2019 somewhat drew me closer to some family members which I hope to explore more of in the coming year as it has really been a joy to get to know them better. Finally with my family, for me this year it is about showing the unequivocal support that they have always shown me. As much as my ageing family can suffer with age -related issues, its my duty to continue to support them in any way I can; hopefully in the same calibre of how great they have been helping to raise and mould me. I truly am grateful for both my family and friends and want to show them that at every opportunity that I appreciate them all.


Lastly, the opportunity simply to live better is one I certainly will not be passing up. Having saved money for as much of 2019 as I can, I'll continue to do this to move out of my family home and into a flat with my partner. With both having a fantastic support network within our families, this is should be definitely achievable and something that will open up plenty more (Here is that key word again!) opportunities to build on in our lives together. I personally really want to grab every moment I can and appreciate the solid foundation set the year before.


To anyone and everyone reading this, please have a healthy and happy 2020, really make the most of the opportunities presented and have a great, great time!


PS Jarvis


A man must make his opportunity, as oft as find it. - Francis Bacon


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page