top of page
  • Writer's picturePS JARVIS

Thoughts from a Key Worker

Updated: May 10, 2020

I write this on the May Bank Weekend, effectively the second weekend to hold a big event during Lockdown, after Easter. Also, with 75 years since VE Day, we celebrate victory in Europe of the War that claimed so many lives. People paid the ultimate price for our freedom, something poignant to this year’s pandemic. Vitally, we celebrate the holidays given by being socially distant and exuding joy from our doorsteps and back gardens, showing appreciation in smaller groups for those who had made the ultimate sacrifice. Interestingly, this weekend, we also have an announcement from our government on the possible 'easing' of Lockdown, or at least the steps to do this. With various news outlets posting frankly absurd dates and speculative gossip, it’s frustrating but understanding the public are confused with what is going in. Let’s start with my job for instance, I am currently a Teaching Assistant in a Secondary School. One very big and frustrating piece of information that is widely misconstrued is that schools are shut. Wrong. They very much are open with many staff still entering the building as long as medical grounds allow. We look after Key Workers children whose parents may be on the front line in many ways. They may be doctors, nurses, carers, disposal operatives, firemen, teachers, supermarket workers, judicial workers.... the list goes on. As time goes on, this number of students will rise too, with more places finding safer ways to work. Indirectly, this could mean that along with my incredible colleagues we COULD (could being the important word) be in contact with carriers of Covid-19 due to family’s exposure working on the front line. I am wonderfully grateful of the institution I work in and am immensely grateful for the ongoing support of my colleagues. When in work we continue the student’s education with as much compassion and support as any other 'normal' day. Incredibly, I have found that the amount of work put in from a lot of sectors has surpassed their original quota by doing things that a few months ago would have been scoffed at. Taking for instance the dreaded conversation of PPE, the protective items of clothing and equipment needed to interact with people in a safer environment. In my place of work, we have a stupendously talented design team that have come together to create over 1300 (at the time of writing) visors and many other items such as ear protectors using their laser printer and donated materials. This is something that I never thought I would see my school partake in, but in the same breath proud to know the amazing people that consider this their duty to do so. As such, I have offered any spare time (which although I have more of, I still support many students from home) to the team to help deliver the visors etc. to care homes/hospices/hospitals or frankly anywhere that needs them. Thus far I've delivered a small number of items reaching around 100 or so to various places, meaning that the talented people can continue to produce the most vital bits of equipment whilst I drop things off. Amongst supporting the student’s education and pastorally making sure they're okay during this stressful time, I naturally have my own family to look out for too. With 4 other people dependant on me, 3 of which fall into the 'vulnerable' categories, I'm taking on the responsibility of the weekly shop for 5 people. Which actually doesn’t sound all that bad... except the house I reside in with 3 other people has no oven. This is a little extra pressure as stock fluctuates of various foods currently, but the produce I have to source has to be cooked in anything but an oven. This sometimes with a lack of pasta and dry food can be more difficult than people realise. Having got into the swing of it by doing it for about 8 weeks, I'm used to the trials of a trip to Tesco. Unfortunately, recently people have not thought twice about coming out with members of their family and making their way into Tesco. With VE Day the next day, I went on my usual Thursday shop to get the weekly food and was frankly stunned by the amount of people evidently doing last minute shops of just party food and alcohol (and yes, I did see trollies at the till with JUST that in). It makes it a real shame that regardless of all the guidance and brutally the deaths, people still think rules don't apply to them. It’s frustrating being a key worker. I can't imagine the 14/15 hour or more shifts medical professionals are putting in with dangerous settings or the fear that might be going through care homes with the elderly being vulnerable, but it really hits home knowing that tens of thousands of people in my home country have died through this virus. The frustrating part lies with the ignorance and the audacity of people thinking that this deadly virus will take a day off whilst the sun is out, an event is on, or sometimes just when people feel like visiting others. That is not the case. The sacrifices being made by Key Workers big or small are all working towards saving people’s lives. It’s really as simple as that. I personally haven't seen some family members for over 8 weeks, but I would rather know I contributed towards the greater good by keeping to the advice rather than being selfish for an afternoon or two. It pains me as someone that is looking after people whose parents are fighting the same cause as me, that people aren't simply following a very simple instruction to help those around them. At times I really have despaired for the behaviour of people, even down my road, who flout these instructions. But then I am reminded that although there are these people, it is the minority. And if there is one thing I know from being a Key Worker, is that with the phenomenal NHS and millions of like-minded people, we will eventually come out of this. From the half a million people that signed up to the scheme to help the NHS, to Colonel Thomas Moore who has raised over £30 million pounds and my colleagues and friends creating vital pieces of equipment, this battle will be won and we will come out of this a much more conscientious country and world. Preparation of kit will be key; schools will have vast back-up plans in case of another pandemic and those who have brought us through this thus far will rightly be praised and go down in history. It truly is vitally important we stay at home, as this really isn't yet over. But if every man, woman and child does their duty, we will find a way into the light once more.



45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page