top of page
  • Writer's picturePS JARVIS

Progress

Updated: Jan 18, 2020

I write this barely a couple of months after entering my current job. It’s a bold career move that I’ve been planning the best part of 2-3 years. In terms of obstacles, its been somewhat turbulent on the journey to reach where I am today. But the progression I have made I am happy with. Its something I constantly work upon to achieve more, expand my horizons etc. Progression is not only in my working life, but personal too with dietary and health sections being persevered with also.


Progression is a funny word. It is usually connotated with positive only words that are linked to moving forward and having gained and not lost. I truly believe after the last 5-6 years or so, this really is not the case. On a personal level, progression along with any lesson, is something that can’t be gained/learnt without any sort of hardship alongside it. In a certain sense, I’ve found progression is a hard-earned part of life. Knowing that you’ve moved forward in whatever I want to do also motivates me throughout these hardships and moments where I may have to move sideways or take one back to take two forward.


Specifically in my work life, a couple of years ago post Uni, I joined an agency called ‘Teaching Personnel’ to gain experience in education. This followed on from already having worked in my secondary school and college as a ‘Musical Theatre Guest’ to help with technique and confidence within the modules and shows. With pretty decent success, this gave me (and I hate writing this) glowing references from heads of Drama/Performing Arts to use towards my educational career. As a side note, I am VERY thankful for these from the people concerned! Entering the world of agency work was actually pretty smooth and the transition into the work was done professionally. Having gained a DBS certificate and the acknowledgement of the agency, I was given a trial/work experience at a school in Chichester.


The school in Chichester was wonderful. Welcoming, warm and supportive, they helped my confidence within the classroom. The setup really did help me flourish. With constant dialogue between me and the LSA/TA team, knowing my schedule/students was integral to my success. This progression was truly down to the people around me. As much as I was the ship, I had the best people in their field around me steering me in the right way, I truly believe that. Then, unfortunately, disaster struck for me. I was due to stay with the school till the end of term as a replacement and was even told about a TA job that a few of the staff wanted me to apply for. I was set. But a freak illness caught hold that really set me back. All this progress, but with nothing to show. I had managed to find myself with blepharitis on my left eye. A massive swelling ensued which effectively blinded me in that eye. Naturally, driving was a no no and even then, with the state of my eye it would have been impossible to carry out my duties effectively given the obvious distraction.


My temporary contract got cancelled and that was it. This at the time seemed like so many steps back, but little did I realise, what I had ahead was to help me more in the long term. Looking for another job to pay my monthly necessities, I had applied for a lot of various sectors. Because of summer it became a little desperate in the end. Then came along a very very well known clothing retail store, beginning with P. Okay, it was Primark. My time there summed up was one of mundane work with some of the most diverse, fantastic people. I made my own progress within this store. Spurred on from the misery of not enjoying the wonderful and insightful experience in Chichester anymore, I was determined to make my own positives.


Although throughout my 10 months at Primark I remained a retail assistant, making the most of my time there was of upmost importance to me. Red Nose Day was organised by me and four other people. A massive majority of the staff in store joined in wearing red/red noses etc. This along with a guess the sweets raised over £100. Secondly, I personally asked if we could participate in PRIDE and sorted out posters, championing the event. Meaning a lot to me for personal reasons, this also came out as a great success. Finally, after joining and being a founder member of the store’s Charity Committee, I along with a colleague from the committee, organised and put on a Bake Sale/Bake Off which raised a fantastic £141.77 for Rowans Hospice. Doing these events along side my job made me progress on a personal level. Developing my self- awareness was important as I had started to find that within certain aspects of my life, I found bits slightly mind numbing and somewhat dormant. I wanted to give something back. Not to massage my ego, but to give a meaningful sense of purpose to what I was doing with my time.

This then brings me up to date at a local secondary school in Portsmouth where I am a Teaching Assistant again. The opportunity arose on Facebook actually, which is where the advert positioned itself (One positive point to Facebook algorithms!). Rather swiftly, I applied for the job knowing I had a little bit of experience previously, but a whole lot of enthusiasm and willing to learn (I know, the irony…) about the job. After a fantastic interview process in which I was interviewed from students to the headteacher, I realised the environment I would possibly be working in would be one of great support, structure and, fun. After a shortlist and a further interview giving everything I had but in my most honest sense, I waited eagerly to learn the outcome of my endeavours. Merely an hour and a half later, I had achieved a massive goal in my journey into education, I got offered the job. Naturally I promptly accepted and set my notice at Primark.


Like a kid starting a new school, I rushed out to purchase new uniform (well, work shirts and trousers), new stationary and a new bag. During this time, I couldn’t help but beam from ear to ear. The effort I had made was finally starting to pay off. Progression within anything takes effort but the effort had to have purpose. I was truly finding mine. Marrying helping people, of which I continued to accustom myself to again and again, to re-joining the education sector seemed perfect for myself at the point in my life I am at. Which sort of brings me to now really. Grabbing every single opportunity with both hands, I am helping as much as I can on Parents Evenings and after hours work to ensure my progression can build and I can keep achieving the highest I can. With the general support of the most wonderful colleagues and friends, with a bit of elbow-grease thrown in from me, I truly believe I can do anything.

If you're walking down the right path and you're willing to keep walking, eventually you'll make progress. - Barack Obama
On my way to work. Loving my job!

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page