top of page
  • Writer's picturePS JARVIS

I Don't Do Fashion!

Updated: Jan 18, 2020

Weird subject to talk about for me, I know. Before we start, I’m claiming to know absolute zilch about fashion, how to make clothes, what colours go best and how to pair them together. This isn’t a masterclass or a lecture on the history of clothing as frankly I don’t have a clue. So, a little disclaimer… All views in this post are opinions and thoughts about my general relationship with fashion. This is about the positive affect clothing has had on my life and its continuing impact on different parts of it.


Like in the first part, trusting I’m not a fashionista or designer is integral to the rest of this post. Firstly I’m going to natter about the biggest point of fashion to me, comfort. Not using clothing to impress, I predominately use it for its most basic reason, to cover what I don’t particularly want the world to see, my errrrrr, private areas. Within this, regardless of price, if it feels good on, I will buy it. The softness of a knitted jumper, the lightness of a sports t shirt and the toughness of the jeans are all important to me as I browse the internet and high street shops. As a slightly chubbier gentleman currently (I’m working on it!) I am currently choosing larger sizes. Do they fit me as they’re designed to? Not really. But without clothing being constrictive, this extra size gives me a comfort blanket that makes me feel somewhat normal in body shape and size.


Even though the above sentiment might sound negative, I generally feel the most confident in my clothes than I ever have before. Thankfully I’ve grown into my style, which really does vary dependant on where I am and what I’m doing. I still play football, so the active gear is a must amongst a smorgasbord of jeans, loose fit tops and jumpers. Four specific purchases stand out recently to me and really do reflect my budding love of what I wear. I’ll put it in list form for the ease of you wonderful readers!


1. Denim Jacket (H&M):

I was scared of purchasing this if truth be told. Reminiscent of 90’s band Bewitched, I really wasn’t sure it would suit me, a 24 year old man. But how naïve I was! Thankfully persuaded to buy it by my significant other, I decided for definite to get it as I recently have worn black skinny jeans a lot. With a stark contrast in colour it is the perfect complement to the lower half of my outfit. It has really become one of my favourite staples!


2. Mustard Fisherman’s Knit Jumper (BoohooMan):

Again, this jumper was inspired by my girlfriend who wears a wonderfully similar jumper. With a close knit, it keeps the perfect amount of air in to warm me up, whilst giving a splash of colour to my outfit.


3. Dinosaur Jumper (BoohooMan):

Because dinosaur. T Rex emblazoned on the front in black orange and red on a turquoise blue base. Immense.


4. Mustard Thick Knit Bobble Hat (BoohooMan):

Partially comfort, partially for the colour, this hat is useful for the winter but also to thrown on with a bad hair day (Which I have a lot…). With mustard being a autumnal colour, it adds a splash to my wardrobe which admittedly consists mostly of black, white, grey and blue.


I have very little fashion sense, and to tell you the truth, I give it very little thought. I dress to be as comfortable as I possibly can. Most of my clothing is either black, grey, or dark blue, and I don't really wear a lot of colours. But I do like jackets. I have a little bit of an obsession with them. -Leonardo DiCaprio

Me and Leo have things in common!


Number one, two and four of the list can be seen in the pictures at the bottom of this post!


Not only have I found this level of comfort with certain textiles but I also have found a level of aesthetic. People now compliment my clothing with colours now protruding my wardrobe that reflect my flamboyant and loud personality. Maybe my personality has bought out the colour or the colour has bought out my personality. But I know for sure, this is the most confident I have felt in a long while. Treating myself and challenging myself has broadened my fashion horizons and I’m glad that with the support of my girlfriend (who currently is loving my wardrobe), I can continue to grow a collection of items that I’m not only comfortable in, but also can look good in for her but most importantly for myself. I’ve really learnt recently that a dash of happy colour can improve my mood tenfold showing that I needn’t worry about what other people think. If YOU like it, rock it and are happy with it, it will show and everyone else will too!



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page