top of page
  • Writer's picturePS JARVIS

Ally with Pride

Updated: Jan 18, 2020

After a long time not physically posting blog pieces, I'm dropping in with a rundown and thoughts of yesterday's event. Portsmouth Pride 2019. A truly wonderfully bright and vibrant event filled with beautiful people. Based at Castle Fields in Southsea, this was the 5th year and by far (in my research and told by people that had been before) the largest.


Let me start by saying, this was my first Pride, so there maybe some statements that are bleedingly obvious. In the same breath, I only have positive things to say so please go easy on me! My reasoning for going is to show every level of pride I could. In beliefs of love, I have always been open to everyone about my views with this being one of diversity and love being something that is a feeling and not labelled due to ones gender. I think love is an incredible aspect of life to gain with another human, and that love should be cherished no matter where and who and it comes from and goes to.


Supporting those close to me is also vitally important. With one of my best friends being gay and my sister being a lesbian, I of course would be fiercely loyal to these people as they have to me through my life. Any sort of life below having full equality to me counts as oppression of a group and as I've stated in person to a few people, unless you're generally a horrible person, no human being should have any less right than any other. This including pay, respect, rights, laws amongst a rather large list of things. Being bought up in this environment with those close to me and with a lengthy musical theatre background, a passion has grown to see a world in which the above can happen.


Which brings me nicely to yesterday (Saturday 22nd June 2019). With my gorgeous girlfriend, about a month ago we made plans to attend the event, becoming interested on facebook and making an effort to come up with the appropriate attire. In the run up, I also managed to organise a Love Pride day at my current work in Primark Portsmouth which featured two bright, bold, non-uniform day in support of the local event. This was the day before and on the day of Pride itself. In such a positive, diverse company, it was great to see the idea being accepted and taken on with such fantastic effort throughout the store!


Unfortunately during the week in the run up to the day, Portsmouth had been dumped on with a large amount of rain falling from thunderstorms and thick blankets of cloud. The day itself could not have been a clearer blue. It was like the weather was going to reflect the day.

Arriving just after the parade had entered the grounds, we were greeted by a sea of colour. With the field abundant in rainbows and various lgbtq flags, it really was a beautiful sight that pleased the mind! Whilst walking around to gain our bearings, we saw a brilliant drama teacher from my secondary school who had the best unicorn headgear on!


To the left of the field if looking towards the sea, laid 3 lanes of businesses, trade and community groups showing their support in abundance. On the right, a large inflated tent housed the main stage which throughout the day graced local politicians, national and local drag acts and the like. Adjacent was a tent for the 18+ section of entertainment which featured acoustic music, drag and comedy during the day. In this tent, Kristina and I went to support our friend who was to perform drag as 'Tink' to Lily Allen's track 'F**k You'. A satirical performance based on national and international villians, this was hilariously lip synced with a massive applause at the end. The variety of the drag before and after was phenomenal. Featuring dark, comedic, diverse drag, the entertainment certainly kept a energetic and fun level for everyone to enjoy.


Coming out of the tent, we ventured round the gazebos and purchased a burger to stem our hunger. By this time, what was a relatively busy ground became really quite populated. With a dense amount of smiles, laughter, sun and a little drink, the day really was in full flow. On the main stage, the performers had stared to wow the audiences whilst a epic amount of dogs adorned in pride flags ran around our feet. With incredible warmth and love everywhere it was impossible not to have a smashing time! Whilst resting our feet on the field, Kristina and I were passed by am older lady with a Mini German Schnauzer wrapped up with the most adorable rainbow neckerchief. Once the dog came for cuddles, well, that was it, a friend for life! We chatted with the lady and Layla the dog for a good 15/20 mins about the event itself and how wonderful a time we had both had so far.


Once the height of the sun had peaked and we had completed visited all of the stalls, Kristina and I decided to make off home saying our goodbyes to the day whilst gazing from the top of the hill. Overlooking the event, we talked about the inspiring day we had and that for sure we will be making arrangements to do everything we can for events like this and possibly ones further away too. We felt a great deal of happiness and love from everyone we talked to, and although told this in advance, I personally was positively overwhelmed by the beautiful people we surrounded ourselves with.


I have grown around like minded people who are open, loving and loyal. This has been a constant through my life. The people I associate with or are related to within this community genuinely are the best, funniest, loving, most generous people I know. And it is this which is why I will continue to support these events and show my own ally pride to the world.


"What it says on your driver’s license isn’t really who you are - you are something much greater than that.” - Ru Paul

Please see a few pictures of the day below. Alternatively, there are lots on my Instagram and Facebook!




56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page