top of page
  • Writer's picturePS JARVIS

Spaghetti Alla Carbonara

A wonderful Italian dish that only takes about half an hour to prep and make, I found this an easy way to introduce myself to eating bacon in other foods. Yes, I'm not the biggest fan of bacon. You can change the bacon in this like I did to Turkey Rashers either smoked or unsmoked. But with the subtle bacony taste creeping out of the creamy sauce, its too much to resist. I adore making it and eating it too! Generally portion size is difficult with pasta, but I have found that the recipe I use is very generous so this should do for a main meal in the evening or a big big lunch! At the time of typing this I have made it a few times a few different ways. Luckily in my garden I have fresh herbs that include chives and parsley so I always garnish with fresh green leaves.

Serves 4

500g Spaghetti

Salt and Black Pepper

175g Diced Smoked/Unsmoked Bacon or Turkey Rashers

1tsp Easy Garlic

4 Eggs

100g Grated Parmesan Cheese

150ml Single Cream

Chopped Parsley/Chives to Garnish

1. Cook the Spaghetti in a large saucepan of boiling salted water for 8-10 mins until just tender.

2. Whilst boiling the spaghetti put the diced Bacon/Turkey into a frying pan and heat gently on low for 7 or so minutes. Increase the heat and add the garlic. Cook with the Bacon/Turkey for 2-3 minutes until the bacon is browning and the garlic is too.

3. Break the eggs into a measuring jug. Add the Bacon/Turkey and garlic mixture. Add the Parmesan and salt and pepper. Whisk until well blended. Add the cream.

4. Drain the spaghetti and place into a Wok on high heat. Immediately begin to add the sauce and begin to toss quickly whilst moving the sauce around the pan. Once the sauce has mostly evaporated, dish up whilst still hot. Serve with the chopped parsley/chives.

Eh Voila!




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page